the Theatre Dybbuk Company, Dortort Center, and the Fowler Museum Presents


Saturday, August 6, 2016 
8:00 PM (97 minutes without intermission)
the Fowler Museum at UCLA
Please Contact [email protected] to be added to a wait list and you will be called if seating becomes available.

Free and Open to the Public

Join us in the Amphitheater at the Fowler Museum for Exagoge, the first extant Jewish play, written in the style of a Greek tragedy by Ezekiel the Poet in the second century BCE. Theatre Dybbuk has used the existing 269 lines of the original play and added to it, building a work rich in movement, music, and poetry. Infused with the experiences of later refugees and the disenfranchised, dating from the 17th century to the present, the play highlights the shared struggles of ancient and modern peoples. Featuring the Harmony Project Leimert Park Choir.

Note: Bring a blanket to sit on for lawn seating in the intimate Amphitheater.  If you would like to picnic, please be advised to bring your own basket: all campus restaurants will be closed. There is limited seating stage level for those who prefer a chair.  The Amphitheater is, by its nature, an open-air venue and evenings at UCLA tend to be cool: please dress warmly.

Presented by the Theatre Dybbuk Company (founder Aaron Henne) in collaboration with the Dortort Center for Creativity in the Arts and the Fowler Museum at UCLA.   The mission of the Dybbuk Theatre Company is to illuminate the universal human experience by creating provocative theatrical presentations and innovative educational opportunities based on Jewish folklore, rituals, and history. 



 dybbuk-2.jpg dybbuk-4.jpg

(photos of the world premiere of "Exagoge" at Temple Israel of Hollywood on June 18th, 2016. All photos by Taso Papadakis.)

August 06, 2016 at 8:00pm - 10pm
the Fowler Museum at UCLA
308 Charles E Young Dr N
Los Angeles, CA 90024
United States
Google map and directions
Perla Karney · · 310-208-3081 ext. 108
Laurie Arroyo Anastasia Chaili Nina Silver Avivit Shaked Elisa Blandford Betsy Zajko Shari Davis Graham Sibley Noelle and Jeffrey Donfeld Jeff Zimerman Mary Leipziger Aimee Bikel Matt-Dell Tufenkian Oleg Ivanov Phyllis Colman Melvyn Kinder Miriam Tasini Miri Koral Jessie George Tami J. Miller Morani Kornberg Jeff Schwartz Nathan Landay Matthew Yeakley Keara Stein Leah Broidy Roberta Morris Jeff Slayton Rachael Martin david aaronson Joel Boucher Jonathan Williams Jon Gillett Janet Bokoch Larry Mond Roxana Miranda debbie jaffe Marlene Stein Barbara Mueller-Wittmann Megan Kanofsky

(310) 208-3081 | 574 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024 | EIN #46-0573247

Created with NationBuilder